TC 2018-2021 Vision: To co-create high quality learning experiences within an inclusive and supportive community

To the TC Community,

A very short message for the beginning of these announcements from myself. A repeat from last week that I shall be taking Long Service Leave starting on Monday 17th June for 8 weeks, returning after the holidays in August. I shall be travelling back to Europe for the first time in 8 years visiting the UK, Greece and the Balkans . In my absence, Sally Holloway will be acting in the position of Principal of TC, with several other staff stepping up to act as Assistant Principals at various times.

I would like to wish everyone all the best for the rest of the term. The start of the new semester, beginning in the last week of term provides many new opportunities, and I encourage everyone to make the most of these.

This Weeks Announcements

  • Photographing, filming and recording students

  • Dads Tool Kits Sessions - External Opportunity

  • Announcement from our Backyard Studies Students

Last Weeks Announcements

  • Return to School arrangements for term 3

  • Reminder - Student Free Day Term 2

  • Sports Update

Previous Weeks Announcements

  • Semester 2 Start Dates

  • Sports Update

  • Tutoring Available - An Update

  • Semester 1 Exams

  • Sports Update

  • Berry Street Workshops on offer to Parents

  • Subject Selection for Semester 2 has now closed

  • TC Ration Challenge: An Update

  • External Event - Mental Health Workshop - Good Enough Parenting

  • Student Free Day Announcement - Clarification

  • VCE/VCAL Attendance

  • Student Free Day Announcement

  • Earn and Learn is On Again

  • Term Dates for the Year

This Weeks Announcements

PHOTOGRAPHING, FILMING, & RECORDING STUDENTS

We have recently reviewed and updated our Photographing, Filming, & Recording Students policy (click here for the policy) and Consent Form (include link to consent form).  If you are comfortable with the school using photos, videos or recordings of your child as described in the policy and consent form, you do not need to take any further action.  However, if you do not want images of your child to be collected or used by our school, please complete the Consent Form and return it to the General Office as soon as possible.  Please note that as of Monday 24 June, we will assume that permission has been granted for all students unless a form is returned stating otherwise.  Please contact the General Office should you have any queries or concerns.

External Opportunity - Dads Toolkit sessions

Dad’s Toolkit is a low cost 4 week program designed specifically for fathers and male caregivers of children aged between birth -18 years of age. It provides evidence based parenting strategies to help support and enhance parenting skills, confidence and child behaviour. This will also be an opportunity for dads to share their

experiences of fatherhood while developing their toolkit of resources to support them in their roles as fathers. This program helps to bring together willing men and to encourage and support them to build upon creating a better place for themselves, their partners and children.

Announcement from one of our Backyard Studies Students

Hi all staff and parents,

The students doing Backyard Studies have decided to open a tool restoration business and we need your old tools! We can fix them and give them back for a small negotiated fee or if you don’t want your tool anymore we will accept donations for fundraising purposes.

 With thanks,

Daniel Gray

Last Weeks Announcements

Return to School Arrangements for Term 3

A reminder that the first day of Term 3 for students will be Monday 15th July. At the beginning of the year we had announced that it would be on Tuesday 16th July but this was amended earlier this term. As students and families may have booked return flights etc for the Monday, if a student is absent on that day this will not count towards their VCE 90% attendance. Please note that classes will be running as normal though on Monday 15th July.

Reminder Student Free Day announcement

A reminder that we will be holding a student free day on Monday 17th June 2019. This is one of the 4 days that every school has available to them to carry out whole school Professional Development. We have already had two days at the beginning of the Year in Term 1, and shall be taking our 4th day at the beginning of term 3.

Sports Update

We had another successful week of sport with our intermediates competing on Thursday.  AFL, badminton, netball and soccer all competed and our soccer and badminton boys won the competition.  Well done to all involved.  Next week the following will be taking place in sport@TC:

 TUES: U14 AFL, badminton, netball and soccer division competition.  Meet at the sports centre at 8.30am.

            Soccer lunchtime training

WED: AFLW training at Templestowe Park Reserve.  Departs from TC Sports Centre at 1.50pm.          

THURS: Connect sports training for- Entry soccer and netball.

              Badminton lunchtime training  

Previous Weeks Announcements

Semester 2 Start Dates

Please note that Semester 2 starts in the last week of term for our student led electives and our other semester based subjects. VCE Unit 2 starts after the Unit 1 Exams and Unit 4 starts after Unit 3 finishes, which may be different depending on the subject.

We are currently working through students selections for Semester 2 to work towards creating new timetables.

SPORTS UPDATE 

Congratulations to everyone who was involved in the Mullum division cross country on Tuesday.  We had some positive individual results with Charlotte Beattie and Tiarnach O’ Connor winning silver and Chloe Mayson and Helena Van Der Lans winning fourth.  Next week the following will be taking place in sport:

 MON: Netball lunchtime training

TUES: Soccer lunchtime training

WED: AFLW training at Templestowe Park Reserve          

THURS: Intermediate AFL, badminton, netball and soccer division competition.  Meet at the sports centre at 8.30am.

              Connect sports training for- U14/ Entry AFL, soccer, netball.

              Badminton lunchtime training  

Tutoring Available - Update

TC offers free tutoring on both Wednesday and Friday afternoons from 2-3:30pm.

Running out of the B-wing pod, tutoring is provided for the following subjects:

 Wednesdays:

  •  Maths (up to and including Methods 3 & 4)

 BRAND NEW SUBJECTS!!

  •  English (Entry – Pre VCE)

  • Psychology (all levels)

  • Chemistry (all levels)

Fridays:

  • Maths (up to and including Methods 3 & 4)

BRAND NEW SUBJECTS!!

  • English (Entry – English 3 & 4)

  • Psychology (all levels)

Semester 1 Exams

 The 2019 Semester 1 Exam Period will run between Friday June 7 and Friday June 14. Templestowe College sees exams as an opportunity for students to demonstrate their learning, and as valuable preparation for VCE examinations in future years. The following studies/subjects offer Semester Exams:

  •  All Unit 1 Studies

  • All Pre-VCE Subjects

 Attached is our Student Information Sheet and Exam Timetable for further details. Students are required to utilise the link within the Student Information Sheet to self-manage any clashes or required reschedules, this should be completed  by Friday the 31st of May.

Sports Update

 Congratulations to everyone who was involved in the Colour Run last Friday.  The winning community was Green (130), Blue (69) and then Gold(53).  Winning competitors in their respective age groups were Tiarnach Oconnor, Carstens Bayers, Anna French, Chloe Maysen, Sullivan Everett, Charlotte Beattie, Yanina Dehearne, Chris Daskolou, Alice Egerton- Warburton.  We also had our senior girls win the division netball which was a great result as they had no subs throughout the competition. Next week the following will be taking place in sport:

 MON: Netball lunchtime training

TUES: Division cross country competition.  Meet at the Sports Centre at 8.30am.

           Soccer lunchtime training

           Visit from Collingwood Football Club (more details to come)

THURS: Connect sports training for- Intermediate/ U14/ Entry AFL, soccer, netball.

              Badminton lunchtime training  

Berry Street Workshop For Parents: Teenage Aggression Responding Assertively ( TARA)

Please find below information on a 2 x 1/2 day workshop for parents being run by Berry Street.

2019 Ration Challenge Update

 Our team now consists of 29 students, 8 parents and 3 staff and we are currently ranked 2nd school in Australia with $4394 already raised, which is only $606 off our $5000 and we still have 3 weeks before the challenge actually starts! Thank you to those who have already generously supported us.

 The Ration Challenge is a fundraising initiative where you eat the same rations as a Syrian refugee living in a camp in Jordan during Refugee Week (16-23 June).  Our TC team do the 3 (Junior) or 5 (Senior) day schools challenge, which has some added protein and fresh fruit and veggies essential for young people. But there is no sugar, coffee…or chocolate! As participants reach various fundraising targets they gain extra ingredients such as tea bags, spices and extra protein.

 The funds raised will provide refugees with food, healthcare and education and the students involved experience how it might feel to ‘walk in a refugee’s shoes’, developing empathy and compassion. It’s also an opportunity to live simply and reflect on how lucky we are.

 If you would like to get behind our school’s ration challenge team here is the sponsor link: https://school.rationchallenge.org.au/templestowe-college.

Or if you would like to directly sponsor our TC participants and help them reach their personal targets their sponsor links are listed below:

Students

Keisha Sadler http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/keishasadler

Jasmine King http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/jasmineking

Jason McIlroy http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/jasonmcilroy

Tahlia Sadler http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/tahliasadler

Anna French http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/annafrench

Ella Van Der Lans http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/ellavanderlans

Vandana Pereira http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/vandanapereira

Chantelle Frigo http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/chantellefrigo

Angelica Frigo http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/angelicafrigo

Naomi Bruinsma http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/naomibruinsma

Alina Marquardt http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/alinamarquardt

Archana Pereira http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/archanapereira

Caelin Dockley http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/caelindockley

Helena  Van Der Lans http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/helenavanderlans

Caelan Haramis http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/caelanharamis

Sahara Woodworth http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/saharawoodworth

Lucy Singh http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/lucysingh

Amelia White http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/ameliawhite

Sucheta Pereira http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/suchetapereira

Nina Tidd http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/ninatidd

Dawn Mosos-Churches http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/dawnmosos-churches

Georden Cokalis http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/geordencokalis

Daniel Westein http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/danielwestein

Holly Jellis http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/hollyjellis

Jordyn Webster http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/jordynwebster

Lily Dixon http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/lilydixon

Trixie Kneebone http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/trixiekneebone

Frankie Meredith http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/frankiemeredith

Charley Dewey http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/charleydewey

 Staff:

Alexander Curl http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/alexandercurl

Athena Illiadis http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/athenailliadis

Meg Bailey http://school.rationchallenge.org.au/megbailey1

 If you would like to participate, email MBAI@tc.vic.edu.au for a sign up form.

 One member of staff with LONG hair has pledged to shave their hair if we can raise $10000! Can you guess who it is? He is getting nervous!

 On Saturday 15 June there is a Welcome to Eltham Refugee Week community Bush Dance in Warrandyte. See the poster attached for details. We have also invited Niro from Tuka Tuka Rothu Roti Man, an asylum seeker enterprise, to cook lunch for us on Tuesday of Refugee Week.

 Meg Bailey

TC Leader for Global Citizenship

Mental Health Workshop - Good Enough Parenting

Please find below information on a workshop being organised by a member of our community for educators, community leaders and medical professionals with the purpose of building skills in dealing with mental health issues in the family (child/adolescent/parents).

VCE/VCAL Attendance

 In order to authenticate VCE/VCAL work requirements and provide the necessary face-to-face learning supports for students undertaking a VCE/VCAL study, all VCE and VCAL students must meet the 90% approved attendance requirement to be awarded an S for a Unit. Approved absences are considered as illness/medical related, provided a medical certificate is supplied, and any school based activities such as camps, excursions etc. Other absences are not considered as approved and count against a student’s VCE attendance percentage.  

 Under the VCAA guidelines, schools may approve special provisions and arrangements for both classroom learning and School-based Assessments for their students. The VCAA recognises that school personnel, because of our knowledge of individual students and their circumstances, can sensitively vary the school assessment programs to accommodate student circumstances. Essentially, this means we can approve for students to be exempt from the 90% rule if they qualify under any of below reasons.

 • an acute or chronic illness

• a long-term impairment or disability

• personal circumstances.

 VCE/VCAL catch up sessions are available on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday between 3:30pm and 4:45pm and are run from S Wing. Attending one of these sessions equates to 1 missed class for 1 subject. Students completing VCE are limited to 5 catch up sessions per study, per Unit. Students completing VCAL are limited to 10 catch up sessions per study, per semester.

 If you have any further questions relating to VCE or VCAL attendance please contact Aaron Mackinnon (AMAC@tc.vic.edu.au) Assistant Principal to discuss further.

Student Free Day announcement

This is advanced notice that we will be holding a student free day on Monday 17th June 2019. This is one of the 4 days that every school has available to them to carry out whole school Professional Development. We have already had two days at the beginning of the Year in Term 1, and shall be taking our 4th day at the beginning of term 3.

Earn & Learn is on again

Woolworths has just launched Earn & Learn, and we're once again joining it. For those parents who aren't aware of the program, if you shop at Woolworths between 1st of May and the 25th of June you can earn stickers. Our school will be collecting these stickers which we'll be able to swap for new school equipment; things like art and craft supplies, sports gear, teaching aids, and more. There are thousands we can choose from!

So for any parents who shop at Woolworths, please collect those stickers and drop them in to our collection box, which is located at both The Pines Shopping Centre and Macedon Square, as well as directly to us at school.

Thanks for helping out!

 

Have a good weekend,

Peter Ellis

Principal

Templestowe College